Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie questions

5 posters

Go down

Newbie questions Empty Newbie questions

Post by Aeroldoth Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:00 am

Hi all! I'm brand new to online gaming of any kind, but not to NWN or D&D. I have some questions.

1) I really like the colored icons that The Amethyst Dragon has made, but there are a few of my own that I prefer. From what I can tell, his/her icons are in haks, and haks take precedence over overrides, correct? Is there any way that I can get my icons to show? They're only a handful, but I do prefer them.

2) Are there commands for, I guess they're called emotes? I'd like to put a few common ones on the toolbar, like wave or laugh. Is there a way to activate them, other than the radial menu?

3) Are monsters supposed to spawn right on top of you? Or is this just me having 0 spot/listen? One example would the be at the graveyard at start. When I open the door, there isn't a creature in sight. I stand there, waiting, and nothing happens. I take ONE step forward, and suddenly a skeleton warrior is there, getting first hit, usually a crit. I have Improved Expertise on my char, and it gets annoying that I can't activate it before combat, since I can't see the opponents. They appear right on top of me, get first hits, the comp automatically puts me in combat, preventing me from activating IE, and then combat goes back and forth before it finally kicks in, but by that time I've already lost most of my hps. Not terrible, but it would be nice if there were at least SOME distance between me and foes. This doesn't happen all the time, but enough to annoy.